Writing rants: First Draft Hell

Icon-Swing

I hate first drafts.

First drafts make me sad.

I hate writing them, I physically have to force myself to sit and type. If I ever lose motivation during a story, it is always at this stage when I’m putting the first words on the page.

The planning stage is great, probably one of my favourite stages. Everything is so fresh and new, I can see everything so clearly, and I know it’s going to be great. I always feel so excited at this point, I can’t wait to get started until I actually try to get started.

Editing is long and laborious, but I love it when a story starts to shape up when it begins to come together. I get just as excited as I am in the planning stage. When the little scribbled story begins to look like a real book, it’s one of the best feelings.

The first draft is like I spit up on the page.

What I see in my head looks nothing like what comes out on my first draft. My first drafts are wooden, cliché, the dialogue is awful, and it is at this point I almost give up on every single project. It takes a lot of effort to get through that wall.

I’m currently working on the first draft for Courage in Silence, a story that I loved while planning and hate now I’m in the first draft.

I really hate first drafts.

Katie Marie wrote a Book. A big one and a couple of little ones. Check them out!

I'd love to hear what you think, please comment below.

